Ugliness: The New Invisibility Coat


Image

Yes, I sure am on a Harry Potter streak; after all I’m an absolute loyal Potterhead! On a more serious note – In this world where everyone is in a rush to look beautiful, with the right amount of make-up, chic clothes, classy bag and high heels – Ugliness has surely become an invisibility coat.

I know many would believe that this is nothing but an attempt by someone ‘who is lazy enough to dress-up’ make fun of those who do take the ‘efforts’. But no this is no mockery, neither is it an attempt to justify one’s laziness. It’s just something that is observed.

How many of us remember that nerdy person in college who sat on the first bench and topped class? How many of us remember the geeky guy at work who worked the hardest and proved his ability time and again? How many of us remember that bespectacled girl with her nose buried in a book?

Am not trying to pity either of these 3, nor am I self-pitying. It’s more of a boon at times than a curse… Wondering how?

Being invisible means I can do all the crazy things and not be bothered how people would judge me because they already have classified me as someone not worth a second look. Being invisible means I can sit for hours end in a coffee shop without having people attempting to talk to me. Being invisible means I can sit by the sea and let my hair blow in all directions not caring what I would look like.

Sure being alone does get a tad bit depressing, but at least I can be myself. I don’t need to dress up if I don’t feel like it. I don’t need to clone myself into the person with the right amount of make-up, chic clothes, classy bag and high heels!

 

Ps: These are just some of my wacky views no intention of undermining anybody.

Share your thoughts with me...

